Book direct and Save 10%!

  • We guarantee you the best rates!
  • No booking fees
  • Book now, pay later

Ranked #2 in TripAdvisor

GeneralAccommodation | Dining | Staff

                  

Avenue Hotel is the number 2 ranked hotel in Canberra on TripAdvisor which shows our commitment to providing an outstanding experience to all our guests. We also love hearing feedback from our guests and on this page, we share with you some recent reviews as well as our 4.5-star TripAdvisor rating.

                 

General Reviews

Perfect

“This was the perfect stay for our family. It had everything we needed and the service was great. The whole experience felt very luxurious and the beds were incredibly comfortable. We will definitely stay here again”

Megancc,  September 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

           

Great apartment-style hotel room. Located near shopping and restaurants

“Great apartment-style hotel room and location near shopping and restaurants. The daily shuttle service was very convenient for getting to work. Also close to transportation as the train station is a block a way."

Rich959,  September 2019 (TripAdvisor)

            

Best home away from home in Canberra

“Avenue Hotel is my home away from home in Canberra. Every staff member is always welcoming, discreet and the suites are sparkling clean with that amazing spa bath as a big attraction after a busy day in the Canberra chill. Everyone at Avenue Hotel can’t do enough to make you feel welcome.”

KarensE8096SR,  September 2019 (TripAdvisor)

           

Short break in Canberra

“Avenue Hotel is smart, comfortable, well located and provides excellent value for money for a weekend stay. Close to Civic and its great restaurants and bars. Free car parking, when booked through the hotel website, is a bonus.”

Siobhan Kennelly,  August 2019 (TripAdvisor)

       

Good location and excellent accommodation

“This is our second time staying at this hotel. We stayed at a One Bedroom Apartment, the room and lounge are big. The kitchen is well equipped and modern. Washing machine and dishwashers are supplied with powder detergent. It has a good selection of capsules for the Nespresso Coffee machine and T2 tea bags. Huge TV in the lounge and good size TV in the bedroom. The bathroom is modern and spacious. It has a big balcony at the lounge and the bed is comfortable. The staff at the check-in counter are helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Canberra. 

LKKAustralia,  August 2019 (TripAdvisor)

   

Back To Top

                

Accommodation Reviews

I wish I could’ve stayed longer

“I was really surprised by how much I enjoyed my stay. The room was more like an apartment with a full kitchen and washer/ dryer. The location was also great, a decent-sized mall and lots of restaurants all within a 10 minute’s walking distance. I wish I could have stayed longer.”

Marion Frazier,  September 2019 (via Google)

    

Sadly only two nights at this wonderful hotel

“We booked the Avenue Hotel based on the comments on TripAdvisor - what an amazing place! The staff were warm and welcoming and informed - absolutely nothing was too much trouble. We had booked a King Room with a balcony but, on arrival, we were told that they had complimentary upgraded us to an apartment. Oh my goodness, we could have lived there - it was beautiful! Lovely sitting room, well-equipped kitchen, utility cupboard which hid a washing machine and ironing board. Not to mention the spacious, spotless bathroom and luxurious bedroom. 

They also had an attached restaurant - Marble & Grain. We had two exceptional dinners there and also breakfast both mornings of our stay. We so wish we had been there for longer. We absolutely loved it.”

Dedb172016,  September 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

   

Great everything

“Booked the Avenue Hotel based on the reviews on TA. What a great establishment. The location on Northbourne Avenue makes it a 5-minute walk to the centre but if you don’t fancy that, there’s a tram stop almost opposite the hotel. The reception staff and indeed any other team member we came across including, restaurant and housekeeping were very nice and actually seemed happy in their roles.

We had interconnecting rooms which were approximately 70 sq metres in total. One of the rooms had a fully functioning kitchenette, lounge and dining area, study space and a separate bathroom and en-suite. The second room was very comfortable and again with en-suite. There are 3 televisions between the rooms. Decor is also of a higher standard than a lot of similar properties we have stayed at in Canberra.

The food and service in the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. This is the perfect spot for a break in the Capital and good value for your money. It will be our choice from this point on.”

Glenn B,  September 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

       

Will be staying again!

“Stayed in a Two Bedroom Apartment with my children (aged 1 and 4 years old), and my parents. Will definitely stay again. Location is excellent. Rooms are great. Clean, perfect size and quiet. Staff were helpful. Only preference would be for a harder mattress as found these too soft but would not stop me from staying again. Did not have breakfast but dinner in the bar was great.”

Katy248,  September 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

                      

Apartment convenience

“We enjoyed a long weekend in Canberra in a large Two Bedroom Apartment. Both bedrooms seemed oversized and spacious. Both bathrooms were modern and luxurious. Kitchenette and dining table were handy and gave us options off feeling more at home rather than sitting on the sofa. We were lucky to get  a special rate which made the experience all the more better. Good location to see the sights.”

Wendyinnerwest,  September 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

         

Business Trip

“I stayed one night in a One Bedroom Spa Suite. It was very clean and spacious. 
The spa was an extremely generous size. I am 6 foot and was able to fit in the spa which is a nice surprise. ”

StephenbX9170BV,  September 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

              

Monet exhibition stay

“Stayed here with a friend sharing Two Bedroom Apartment rooms, which were opened as one. Would also suit 2 couples. Staff were very friendly, rooms a good size with a dishwasher and washing machine, convection microwave. Very close to restaurants, bars, shops, Dendy cinema. We walked everywhere, even through the cold. We even walked to the National Art Gallery. Breakfast was good as well.”

Bernadetteo138,  August 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

    

Very comfortable, close to all attractions

“Great hotel. Fantastic restaurant and a very nice room. The bathroom amenities and storage was better than many I have seen. The best was very comfortable, and the staff were helpful and accommodating.”

Dianek321,  June 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

    

Back To Top

                

Dining Reviews               

Clean, comfortable and spacious 

“We stay here every year on our way home from the snow. The Two Bedroom Apartment is so spacious, clean, modern, with all the amenities and creature comforts you need. The restaurant Marble & Grain is absolutely delicious. Location is central to everything. We would never hesitate staying at the Avenue and highly recommend it.”

Tarms79,  August 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

             

Wonderful Weekend Break

“Fantastic service and beautiful rooms. We stayed in the Spa Suite and it was a beautiful room. Clean and spacious! Staff were friendly and well presented. We dined at Marble and Grain and we weren't disappointed. Food was delicious!”

CatherinehC3421RR,  June 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

        

Outstanding, best hotel stay in Canberra

“Immaculate service, outstanding staff and the in house restaurant was exceptional. The room was clean and well presented. All the fixtures were new and well maintained and the overall experience was above our expectations. Made my business trip into a very enjoyable holiday-like experience. Always a pleasure coming back to the hotel and immediately feeling relaxed and confident there was never going to be any problems.” 

Murray Decker,  August 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

         

Comfortable and conveniently place with good food handy

“The pre-booked breakfast was reasonable value and very tasty choices were provided in the excellent restaurant. We dined there the evening we arrived and the staff advice to ore-book was a winner as it was quite crowded on Sunday evening.” 

David,  June 2019 (via Booking.com)

     

Marble and Grain at the Avenue Hotel

“Full buffet breakfast in the restaurant each day of our stay at the Avenue Hotel was excellent. Food was great and freshly replenished regularly. Good value for money.” 

OnAir,  November 2018 (via TripAdvisor)

    

Back To Top

   

Reviews about our Staff

Room Cleaning Staff

“We loved the little surprises left on the bed each day. The ladies that checked us in and out were very pleasant and helpful.”

       

Waitstaff and Bartender 

“The waitstaff at breakfast were both friendly and very efficient, nothing eas too much trouble. My wife told the bartender that we made the best cosmopolitans she’s had including those whilst in New York. We were remiss in getting his name, otherwise, we would have mentioned him by name.”

           

Cleanliness 10/10

“Fantastic stay at the Avenue Hotel, couldn’t fault anything! Bed was so comfortable and wonderful shower. The cleaning staff does a great job and don’t keep bothering you all the time to clean. We received an early check in as we arrived much earlier than we anticipated. If you book online through their website you will receive free parking and free WiFi. Very central and right next to McDonalds but you wouldn’t know it. Very quiet hotel and we stayed on the 7th floor.”

Colin M,  September 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

           

Great place to stay

“Short and long stay this hotel is great - very clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well presented and pleasant to stay in. Staff were very helpful and polite. I have stayed in many hotels in Canberra and this is by far the best overall.”

Christopher H,  August 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

           

Brilliant. Loved the privacy.

“The price we paid was nothing compared to the service we received. Would definitely recommend staying here again. Score 9.6 should be higher. Loved it.”

Wayne,  September 2019 (via Booking.com)

         

 A brilliant night’s sleep!

“Came to Canberra for a special event. Had never been before. Chose this hotel for the location. The whole experience was fabulous! People on reception were helpful and efficient, giving us great recommendations for dinner.

The room was spacious, new and well equipped - even had a cute balcony! Bathroom was a great size, with a really effective shower. A special extra was all the Kevin Murphy products - one of my favourite hair care brands!

I was travelling with my teenage son and we’d done a lot of walking. I don’t normally sleep well in hotels, so I didn’t bother with an alarm, just a reminder at 9am for Father’s Day! That reminder woke me up! We both slept for 11 hours!”

LizzieLMelbourne,  August 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

                 

Best place to stay in Canberra

“Couldn’t recommend this hotel more. Best Beds ever - like sleeping wrapped in a cloud. The staff always go above and beyond to help you with whatever you need.”

Kirstin H,  August 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

    

Back To Top

     

       

   

Back To Top